Archive for May 14, 2018

Emory Nursing students honored at 2018 Diploma Ceremony

Students line up during the Diploma Ceremony Monday, May 14th.

By Andy Goodell
Communications Manager
Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing

Hot and humid conditions didn’t stop graduates of the Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing from beaming with pride during their 2018 Diploma Ceremony at McDonough Field on Monday, May 14th.

Stefka Mentor, BSN Class President, delivers the Commencement Address.

This sentiment of determination among the student body was reinforced by Stefka Mentor, BSN Class President, as she delivered the Commencement Address.

“Nursing is a commitment,” said Mentor.

Kathryn Dirks, an MSN representative who delivered the Student Welcome at Monday’s ceremony, expressed the hope that graduates will continue to be as dedicated to nursing as they are today.

“May we never lose sight of why we chose this path,” said Dirks.

The Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing’s Class of 2018 has distinguished itself in many ways. There are 412 total graduates in the class with eight DNP students and eight PhD graduates. There are 78 BSN graduates, 90 Accelerated BSN graduates, 133 MSN, 73 Accelerated MSN graduates this year. Nine members of the 2018 Class honorably served in American military.

Nursing School graduates this year hail from 30 states and two foreign countries. 19 percent of graduating students are doing so with honors. Five Students graduated Summa Cum Laude or with grade point average of 3.9.

Award winners pose for a photo with Dean Linda McCauley.

Commencement weekend began with the Saturday Awards Ceremony and culminated with the Diploma Ceremony on Monday. The following awards were given during the Saturday, May 12, School of Nursing Awards (BSN and PhD) at Glenn Memorial Auditorium as well as at Monday’s Diploma Ceremony:

Boisfeuillet Jones Medal: Patricia Ann Craven

Award of Excellence: Ansley Nicole Caulkins

Excellence in Collaboration: Laruen Nicole Noble

Excellence in Social Responsibility: Audrey Ann Fisher

Excellence in Innovation: Xiquin Huang

Excellence in Leadership: Alexander William King

Nell Hodgson Woodruff Award for Compassion and Caring: Melissa Ann Garner

Silver Bowl Awards: PhD – Helen Frances Baker, BSN – Stefka Mentor

Assistant Clinical Professor, Melissa Owen, PhD, RN earned the Emory Williams Teaching Award. Owen also earned the Heart of the Student Award for the second time from the graduating BSN class.